A Mother’s Love

4 Sep

 

I was supposed to leave the hospital on a Thursday evening two weeks after my surgery.  Geneva being Switzerland, though, it can be harder to get out of the hospital than to get in.

The evening I was supposed to leave, I had steamed green beans for dinner.  I’m not sure if the food bothered me or if I contracted a stomach virus somehow (remind me what the infection rate in hospitals is?), but either way I was miserably sick.  And it was very painful, as the 10-inch incision in my abdomen wasn’t completely healed yet.  The silver lining was that I got to say in the hospital for one more weekend, because I felt a lot better the next Monday than I did on the Friday I was supposed to leave. More energy, with less pain and discomfort.

So, you know your mother loves you when:

  • She washes and wipes your butt and changes your diaper. When you’re in your 20s.
  • She holds back your hair when you’re vomiting.
  • She washes the vomit off your glasses. (How do you vomit on your glasses, anyway?)
  • She spends the night at the hospital in a reclining chair next to your bed. Not comfy.

And I even got a grilled cheese sandwich when we got home.

Leave a Reply

