The History of Bananas in Texas

15 Oct

 

I have a love affair with this flag (picture taken in the Texas State Capitol in Austin).  It sums me up pretty well:

 

When I first saw the flag on a T-shirt at the Alamo gift shop a few years ago, my mother wouldn’t let me buy it, saying that it would give off the wrong impression.

Well, when my best friend from Switzerland came to visit, we found ourselves unsupervised in the Alamo gift shop and I bought the T-shirt.

Fast forward to an early-morning doctor’s appointment.  I’m in the waiting room of my oncologist’s office, eating a banana after having fasted all night for my bloodwork.  An older gentleman comes in, looks at me, and asks, “Is that a banana on your shirt?”

Needless to say, he got a Texas history lesson.

“The Battle of Gonzales was the first battle in the Texas Revolution. In October 1835, the Mexican government sent word to the town of Gonzales that the Mexican army was going to come retrieve the cannon that it had lent them for protection against the Indians some years before. The residents of Gonzales decided to fight, and 18 men blocked the Mexican army from crossing the river into the town. The Mexican army retreated, but a few days later they tried to take the cannon once more. This time, the residents of Gonzales rolled the cannon out to the Mexicans. They rose a white flag with a black cannon in the middle and the words “Come and Take It” across the top, and then they fired into the gathering of Mexican soldiers.”

I guess it could be worse — my mother thinks that the cannon looks like a penis and my stepfather thinks it looks like a condom.

Leave a Reply

