Bucket List

19 Jan

I suppose we all have one, but mine’s a little more urgent than most people’s.  I’ve knocked two (minor) items off mine — ordering sushi in a restaurant and going to a 3D movie.  The seaweed around the sushi was a bit strong (so I ate the sushi unwrapped) and the movie made me a little queasy, but hey — I tried it.

I’d like to go fishing again and go see the rodeo.  One of my biggest regrets is, oddly enough, that I never did go down with all the other kids to chase the calf with the ribbon on its tail when I was a little girl.

I’ve pretty much had to get rid of my international travel to-do list, but at least I’ve already seen more of the world than most people.  I’d still like to do a lot of domestic travel, though – I haven’t seen the Grand Canyon, the redwood forests, Mount Rushmore, Yellowstone, New York City, the Civil War battlefields, or historic Williamsburg.  I’d also like to go back to Washington, D.C. to visit Arlington Cemetery, the National Archives, the National Cathedral, the Supreme Court and the inside of the White House.  (I busted my ankle against the corner of a column in the Supreme Court during a mad dash for the bathroom the last time I was there, but I didn’t get to take a tour.)

The biggest item on my bucket list, though, is to appear on Wheel of Fortune.  I have watched the show faithfully for as long as I can remember, although at first I only watched to see what dress Vanna was going to wear each night.  I didn’t really start participating and solving puzzles until I was six or so, which was when I learned a new word – ampersand.  Pat Sajak announced that it was the first time that an ampersand had been used in a puzzle.  I also remember when Vanna switched from turning letters on a manual letter board to touching letters on a digital one.  I’ve got a favorite mis-solve, too – “A band of pill-pushers” instead of “A band of well-wishers”.  And who could forget Pat stripping off his shirt in order to play the washboard in New Orleans?

I even watched the French version of the show while I lived in Switzerland.  It’s hosted by television personality Christophe Dechavanne and his cute little dog, with international supermodel Victoria Silvstedt turning the letters.  The dollar amounts offered as prizes may not equal what’s offered in the States, but it was fun to solve puzzles in French before the contestants were able to sort them out.

That pretty much sums up my bucket list.  I’m working on mine – now you start working on yours.  You don’t know how much time you have left in this life, and you should live the fullest life possible.

Leave a Reply

