It’s a Contest

22 Jan

 

I have always been competitive by nature.  (My favorite quote comes from the Marquise de Merteuil in Dangerous Liaisons – “Win or die.”)  It can be a strength or a weakness, depending on how you look at it.  Once, when I was seven or eight, my best friend Andrea (who was also very competitive) and I were playing a game out in the backyard, and I got so angry when she won that I bit her on the chest through her swimsuit.  (We weren’t allowed to play together for a while after that.)  On the other hand, when I skipped the 7th grade, the school administrators told me I had to maintain a solid B average in order to stay in the 8th grade.  I fought my way to the top of the class and stayed there, tutoring some of my fellow students in algebra and science.

Now that I’m sick, I’m interested in a different kind of competition.  I think that I may be officially the one person amongst everyone I know who has been admitted to the doctor or hospital in the greatest number of places in the world.  Let’s count:

  • Dallas, TX
  • Garland, TX
  • Kerrville, TX
  • San Antonio, TX
  • Tulsa, OK
  • Shreveport, LA
  • Middlebury, VT
  • Salamanca, Spain
  • Poitiers, France
  • Geneva, Switzerland

I win!

Leave a Reply

